Lesson of the Day: If You’re Going to Send a Child to School…

Today’s Lesson: If you’re going to send a child to school after a week of being sick, at least make sure there is school.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but after a summer of giving the boys some slack, I look forward to September to get them all back into a routine. We’d just finished up the first full week of school and Liam’s first week of preschool (an hour on Friday just doesn’t really count as preschool starting in my books) and I was planning to have this past week go even better since it takes a little time to get back in the groove. Well, you know what they say about the best laid plans…

Last weekend, Aiden came down with a cold. It was pretty nasty on Saturday and continued to be so until late Monday so we kept him home on Monday. We ended up keeping him home Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday since he hadn’t been sleeping well and had been coughing a lot. Liam went to preschool on Monday but by Wednesday, I had to keep him home as well. Callan, of course, came down with the cold too. Consequently, I have had a house full of sick boys all week.

The last thing I want after a summer of a houseful of boys is a week of all the boys not only home, but not feeling well. All I can really do is thank my immune system that their cold didn’t hit me very hard and I was mostly just tired from sitting up with the baby who wouldn’t stay asleep. Unfortunately, due to lack of sleep, my patience was a little thinner than it ought to be so by the time I started getting complaints that there were seeds in the grapes (Oh no! Actual seeds in grapes! What is the world coming to?!) I was more than ready to send all the boys back to school today. Liam felt well enough yesterday that he assured me that he would for sure be going to school today. Aiden could have gone back yesterday as long as he avoided phys. ed. but he chose to stay home for one more day to make sure he got better.

On Tuesday or Wednesday, I remembered that parent/teacher interviews were coming up so I went looking for the note with the URL for registration. I managed to get us one of the last open evening slots on Thursday so that both Ian and I could go. In the seven hours between the Thursday morning breakfast fiasco and the world-ending grape revelation, I’d had enough that I offered to go to parent/teacher by myself so Ian could deal with the Boys Who Refuse to Eat and spare me from the psych ward. I may have felt guilty about leaving him with three boys in the midst of asserting their independence but the full bowls of soup on the table when I got home fixed that.

I had a fairly good visit with Aiden’s teacher: we discussed his teaching methods and went over Aiden’s strengths and weaknesses so he knew what to look out for. Before I left, I picked up the work Aiden had missed over the week so that he could do it over the weekend. I’m sure I may have mentioned something about sending him to school the next day, but neither of us really picked up on it.

That brings us to this morning. I woke Aiden up a little after 7AM and got his breakfast for him. After breakfast, he got ready for school while I made a snack for him – Fridays are half days. I suggested he take his time on the way to school so he didn’t wear himself out and sent him on his way with a jacket to keep the morning cool off (it was only about 10C this morning but it’s around 24C now). Then I went about getting breakfast for the two little ones and noticed that Aiden had left his homework on the table.

Ten minutes after school started, Aiden was at the back door. I grabbed his homework  and opened the door to give it to him, thinking that he’d come home to get it. However, when he got in the door, he said, “No school today.” It took me a little while to register that. Okay, it took more than a little while. I should have known there was no school the minute I confirmed that the parent/teacher meetings were this week. They always have the meetings Thursday afternoon and evening and Friday morning instead of classes. Apparently, I’ve been just off enough that I didn’t even think of it.

Oh, and for the record: Liam’s home today too. He woke up coughing and sniffing and decided he was still sick and should stay home. He insists that he’ll be going to school on Monday, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Lesson of the Day

Leave a Reply

