Liam’s Book Club: Guess how Much I Love You

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney Illustrated by Anita Jeram

I can’t quite recall how this one came to us. I have a suspicion that my cousin gave it to us, though maybe it was my parents. I really should take a page out of my mother’s book and write the whos and whens on the inside front cover when we get a new book as a gift. Regardless, this is a very sweet book about a discussion between a baby rabbit and his father about how much they love each other.

I’m quite sure that I first encountered this book when I was babysitting a couple of girls as a teenager. They had a few library books that I spent most of a day reading to them, and I’m sure this was one of them…the memory is drowned out by the memory of reading a Three Billy Goats Gruff story to them (the troll voice did a number on my vocal chords). Of course, by the time we received it as a gift, I had long forgotten that day of reading to the girls.

Although printed in 1996 with the text and illustrations copywritten in 1994, it comes across as a much older classic than it really is. Part of this is probably due to the illustrations that (for me at least) bring to mind Beatrix Potter without the clothes. It could be the use of watercolor that does it. The wonderfully calm illustrations mix with the text quite well and makes for a great addition to the bedtime roster. Now, if only we could get Liam to settle down nearly as well as Little Nutbrown Hare does…

2 Comments

Filed under Liam's Book Club

2 responses to “Liam’s Book Club: Guess how Much I Love You

  1. For when he’s a bit bigger, you really ought to get him a copy of What Darwin Saw. I understand it’s really good, but I’m not in its target audience so I’d feel a little silly getting it for myself. 🙂

    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6263228-what-darwin-saw

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll probably grab that one soon (as in the next year) so that we’ve got it. I can always make Aiden read it to the two little ones and wind up exposing all three of them to Darwin in one go.

Leave a Reply

