Lesson of the Day: Good Behavior is a Myth

Today’s lesson: Good behavior is a myth or they’re always waiting for you to let your guard down.

The good behavior myth applies to all ages and I’m sure several people have stories of their own childhoods where they presented their parents with a little angel while plotting something rather devious when out of sight. What you may not know (or recall) is that even babies wait for you to let your guard down.

I’ll start with a little background info. After having to clean up Liam’s Rocket Pooh and Jet Pee, we learned our diaper changing lesson. Under no circumstance should you try to remove a diaper without first giving the baby a warning that it’s about to get cold down there. Oh, and cover up. We have a method all worked out: 1) put Callan on the change pad 2) cover up using a receiving blanket 3) open diaper for a few seconds and then re-close 4) get everything ready (and sometimes wait a little longer) 5) change diaper. The step 3/4 combo usually lets the little one get that last burst off pee out before you remove the diaper thereby guaranteeing a pee-free diaper change…the blanket is a safety precaution.

Today, I fell for the good behavior myth. We had been pee-free for quite a while and I was just doing a quick follow-up change about 20-30 minutes after the previous one.  I figured that there was no need for step 2 or 3 because I had just changed him and there would be no way that he’d pee yet again in such a short time and since he hadn’t been peeing during diaper changes, he wouldn’t do it this time either. I even thought to myself, “Watch this be the time that he does pee,” and still didn’t take measures to prevent it. Go figure, mere seconds after I pulled the diaper off, he was peeing all over the place – that’s right, peeing all over the place and laughing. You could see him thinking, “I’ve been waiting for you to do that. You have no idea how long I’ve wanted to pee on you…and me.”

Thankfully cleanup was rather easy and I could get back to the change without too much trouble. Granted, compared to sopping toddler urine our of the carpet, a little bit of baby pee on a change pad is nothing. From now on – when it comes to diaper changes at least – I will not let my guard down no matter how cute he is or how long it’s been since the last time he peed during a change. Fool me once, shame on you. Pee on me twice, shame on me.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Lesson of the Day

2 responses to “Lesson of the Day: Good Behavior is a Myth

  1. Jack doesn’t pee on us when we change him anymore, weather this is due to our own diaper changing routines or just sheer dumb luck I couldn’t say. However, he does seem to have learned another funny little habit. He seems to like to pee in the bath. He has raised himself up just enough to aim for the clean towel we had set aside for him, pee on himself or just shoot a graceful arc from one end of the tub to the other. At least when it’s in the bath it’s fairly easy to clean up.

    • Ah, yes, peeing in the bath…that was one of Liam’s favourites. I must say, I prefer it to peeing all over the carpet.

      Honestly, we don’t have many problems with Callan peeing during changes, though when he does do it, he tends to giggle as he pees.

Leave a Reply

