New (School) Year’s Resolutions

I look at the beginning of January as just another day. Sure, it’s the beginning of the new calendar year, but that doesn’t mean much when you’re still busy trying to get everything put away from Christmas. For the vast majority of my life, the beginning of September has been a more definitive year beginning than the beginning of January. With the fast approaching beginning of the new school year, it’s a good time to implement a few changes for the good of all…or at least my sanity. So here they are, my new (school) year’s resolutions:

1) Turn the TV off and the radio on – I love that Liam loves superheros (and Scooby Doo) so much, but I’m tired of listening to the same episodes over and over again…especially when he’s actually playing and not really watching. Listening to music while the house was empty today made me remember how much it helps to keep me level which I should be striving for every day…especially with kids.

2) Take the kids out to parks/for walks while the weather is nice – I had been tired for months and finally got my energy back just before school let out but the thought of getting three kids ready to go anywhere by myself is draining. They won’t learn to love the outdoors on their own, though (at least not without bribing them with fun outdoor toys), so I’ve got to stop making excuses and get going.

3) Find a cause and get involved – It’s amazing how good it can make you feel to help others out and the best way to help your children develop a social conscious is through your actions. I feel like I lack direction and hope that giving my time to something (no matter how small) may help give me focus.

4) Plan dinner the day before – Too often, we eat something ‘quick’ because it’s too late to thaw something (I dislike using the microwave to thaw my food) by the time I get around to planning dinner. Planning early will help me make sure that I have everything I need and that we’re eating more healthily.

5) Use that construction paper! – My mother sent me an old package of construction paper that we received shortly after we had bought a new pack. So here we are with two large packs of paper and we’re not doing crafts with them. The boys need an outlet for their creativity…other than my walls.

6) Turn the computer off and the sewing machine on – Okay, maybe the computer will stay on but I can turn the monitor off at least. As hobbies go, creating something is far cooler than staring at pixels and you never know, it may lead to something.

7) Use WiiFit more often – Ian bought it for my birthday almost three years ago now and I haven’t used it nearly as much as I ought to have.

I give no guarantees that I will actually stick to all of these, but I intend to do my best…for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

