Liam’s Book Club: Baby, Boo!

Baby, Boo! from Amazing Baby

This book came to us in a Read to Me! bag along with a couple other books, a CD of lullabies, and information on the NS library system…oh and a little baby hat. The Read to Me! program is a brilliant Nova Scotia venture that has one of these bags delivered to mothers and babies within 24 hours of birth. The goal is to increase literacy rates.

Baby, Boo! – one of Amazing Baby’s best sellers – features black and white baby pictures on one page and a colourful picture (hearts, dots, squares) on the opposite page with a short sentence that matches the picture. The final page has a mirror on it so that your baby can look at him- or herself. It may not seem like much to a parent, but it’s great for your child’s development.

Originally, it was a favourite of Liam’s simply for the mirror. He later started to  enjoy looking at the baby pictures and having the captions read to him. Now, he tries to read it to Callan. The best part about that is that on the second page, he reads, “Kiss, kiss, kiss,” and leans over to kiss Callan. Of course, then Callan tries to eat it so not only is it a great book to read to your children, but it’s tasty too!

This is another one of those books that I probably wouldn’t have picked up on my own but now that I’ve got it, I’m glad someone gave it to me.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Liam's Book Club

2 responses to “Liam’s Book Club: Baby, Boo!

  1. I love the Read to Me program! We’ve been reading to Jack since the day he was born. I’ve since bought him The Very Hungry Caterpillar and he really loves it. I think it’s the simplistic yet colourful pictures that he truly enjoys. I also got him Goodnight Moon, but he’s not as fussed over that one as of yet.
    When I just need to lull him to sleep I’ll read the Harry Potter series to him, since I can just keep reading after he falls asleep.

    • I used to read The Narnia Chronicles to Liam when he was tiny. The Very Hungry Caterpillar was my choice for next week – we got both it and Goodnight Moon for participating in a development study between 6 and 18 months. It’s funny how many board books we’ve been gifted. During our prenatal classes, we were told not to buy many because they’re expensive and your baby will only use them for a little while (I’d say over 3 years is better than most of the books we buy for Aiden…or ourselves). I haven’t bought very many, but we’ve got a big collection from all the books people have given us. The Robert Munch collection, though, is pretty much all me.

      If you’re looking for something else for Jack (or yourself for some variation), try some of the Sandra Boynton books. Liam loved both Moo, Baa, La La La! and The Going to Bed Book.

Leave a Reply

