Liam’s Book Club: Moo, Baa, La La La!

Moo, Baa, La La La! by Sandra Boynton

This book, no word of a lie, has got to be one of my favourite books for babies! In fact, I loved it so much that I read to to Liam several times a day, every day for months. Even now, a few years later, I can recite the entire thing without the book…but what fun is that when you don’t have the pictures for your little one to look at? Our copy was given to us by one of my Aunts – an elementary school teacher – when Liam was born. According to her daughter, she hast excellent taste in children’s books and based on how much we’ve enjoyed the ones that she gave us, I believe it.

As delightful as all the other Sandra Boynton books that I’ve gotten my hands on, this one is fairly simple with a touch of her trademark silliness. The theme – as evident from the title – is what animals say and even within those constraints, she managed to fit in a few rhymes that add to the cuteness.

The recommended age on this one is 0-24 months, but as with most baby books, it’s a good one for helping to teach young children to read as the text is simple and the pictures correspond with the words enough to give major hints about what each page says. Liam has been trying to read it to himself a bit recently. There’s no question to it – this book is great for children under five and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to any new parent.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Liam's Book Club

2 responses to “Liam’s Book Club: Moo, Baa, La La La!

  1. Sandra Boyton also has this book and a bunch of others of hers in Spanish. My Mom got us the English and Spanish versions and it makes it easy to learn words from Spanish because I know the English versions by heart! Great post!

    • I didn’t know that her books were published in Spanish as well, though considering how great they are, I shouldn’t be surprised. I’ve had other parents tell me that they love Boynton’s books, but it’s nice to hear that kids appreciate them too.

Leave a Reply

