Liam’s Book Club: Twinkle Twinkle, Little Star

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star by Kate Toms

This is one of our bedtime books. It was a gift for Liam from my parents though I’m sure it was my mother who picked it out as the illustrations are done with fabric. It’s a cute little take on the Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star nursery rhyme that features a  corduroy mouse telling his thoughts to a blue glittery star. Aside from wanting to keep the star as a pet, he ask questions about the moon including whether it’s made of cheese or not and if there are mice like him across the sea.

The rhythm of the book keeps mainly with the original phrasing of the nursery rhyme and works well for helping to lull children to sleep. The illustrations are sedate enough that they shouldn’t work against the phrasing but at the same time interesting enough to keep little readers from getting bored.

Chances are that I wouldn’t have picked up this book if I had seen it. It’s got a cute enough cover, but it doesn’t grab me enough to make me buy it. That being said, Liam loves it and I consider it a wonderful find by my mother.

Leave a comment

Filed under Liam's Book Club

Leave a Reply

