Cherry, Apple, Peach, Oh My!

A bowlful of our delicious dessert from Thursday night

Every summer, we end up buying piles of fresh fruit. This is partially in an attempt to get the boys to eat more fruit and partially because we love fruit. Unfortunately, we don’t always get to eat it all before it starts to go bad. I’ve recently made the decision to start using the fruit up faster and stop worrying about who might have wanted to eat it as it was. So on Wednesday, I made strawberry shortcake to get rid of most of the strawberries that we bought over the weekend. Then, starting Wednesday night, I couldn’t stop thinking about combining peaches and cherries (both of which we had in our fridge).

Finally, on Thursday afternoon, I set about making a crisp. I used a couple apples (one granny smith and one gala), two peaches, and about a cup of cherries to line the bottom of my dish (8-9″ round, 4″ deep) and then I sprinkled cinnamon and brown sugar over top. I covered it with a double batch of crisp (3/4 cup of flour & brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups of oats, and 1/2 cup of butter) and stuck it in the oven.

I don’t think there’s any better dessert than a fresh from the oven, fruit based treat. This one was delicious and aside from the cutting and peeling with a crying baby (who eventually got strapped to me and then fell asleep) it was simple to make.

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

